Home > Uncategorized > Some thoughts about blogging…

Some thoughts about blogging…

Since starting to move some content across from my older PhD blog, I’ve been thinking about just what I’m trying to achieve here. Randomly ranting at the internet isn’t all that productive, unless it serves some other purpose. Unlike the personal blog I’ve been writing in since 2003, this one has a bit more direction to it – less about keeping in touch with friends, and more about reflecting on the research project that occupies most of my waking moments these days…

I’d like to become a little more fluent at taking my thoughts about research, and presenting them in a form other people might understand. I’d like to keep track of all the twists and turns that I’ve taken along the way. I’d also like to use this blog to expose unfinished thoughts to other opinions and comments, in order to see things in a different light, and to help me develop more robust arguments. Finally, I’d like to show people some of the things I’m discovering in my research.

So, some things I’ll aim to do:

  • Blog early. While the exact time of day doesn’t really affect how much I’ll get out of writing, it does affect how likely it is to be seen by anyone else. I’m hoping to bounce some ideas off other people, and so it makes sense to put those ideas out when other people might see them. When I’m (inevitably) writing late in the day, I’ll put those drafts aside and post them the following morning.
  • Blog often. This is a writing thing. I’m not currently in the habit of writing about my research – though I spend vast amounts of time communicating in a written form online. Posting regular thoughts in here will help me to develop thoughts and ideas, instead of holding off until things are “finished” – because let’s face it, no ideas are ever really finished.
  • Make time to write. Less of a writing issue, and more of a time management one. If I can put aside the last 15min of each day for writing here, I’ll be doing it after spending a day of doing things. Preserving those thoughts is more useful to me than capturing my start-of-day hopes, as those often don’t match up to what really ends up happening
  1. August 22, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    Good luck sticking to your plan. Making time for writing is my biggest hurdle.
    -Josh

    • August 23, 2010 at 11:40 pm

      Thanks!

      At the moment, I can usually find some time – but that time isn’t always where I’d like it to be… I’m hoping to figure out ways of keeping work more-or-less in “work hours” instead of spreading out across the day.

  1. August 23, 2010 at 11:38 pm

Leave a Reply

