Home > Uncategorized > Another look at Qualitative data analysis for Mac users: Dedoose

Another look at Qualitative data analysis for Mac users: Dedoose

Technically I’m not meant to be looking at data analysis right now: it’s writing month, and the last thing I need to be doing is getting lost in data. However, the Qualitative Data Analysis Software for Mac – A Brief Look post that I wrote last September is still getting a huge amount of traffic every day, and I thought it was time to write a quick update.

What’s changed? Lots. I recently discovered a tool called Dedoose. Like the other tools that I’ve come to rely upon (Zotero for managing references, Scrivener for writing) it’s not an incremental upgrade that adds bells and whistles to an existing product. I like things that are built with a researcher’s workflow in mind, instead of a list of features that you need to work around. It’s also browser-based, so can be used from almost any computer with an internet connection.

The main advantages that I can see are:

  • Cross-platform (so I can use it on my Mac without needing to buy and install Windows and Parallels or VMware Fusion! That already saves me a few hundred dollars)
  • Online data storage, so I can access and work on the project from any computer, and have online backups available if my computer crashes.
  • I’m hopeful about it having a more intuitive interface than NVivo 9, as a shallow learning curve was one of their design goals
  • For projects involving multiple people (i.e. most things except a PhD), it’s a product built around collaborative tools, rather than bolting them onto an existing product
  • Lots of visualisation tools (which can also export to various formats). I think visually, and that will help me to understand what’s going on within and between my different case studies.
  • Licensed by the month, and at competitive rates with other options on the market.

For me, the downsides are:

  • Storing my project data online will require an ethics variation form, as my current ethics approval requires me to store digital copies on RMIT servers. However, Dedoose uses encrypted storage so the variation should be a fairly straightforward bit of paperwork.
  • Requires an internet connection. My home internet has been increasingly flakey over the last few months, and I don’t like my productivity tied to whether Virgin Broadband has decided to work that day.
  • Less support available in the university. It has two black marks against it in an RMIT context: it’s new, and it’s not NVivo. There’s a very established NVivo community here, and a lot of organisational resistance to change. However, there seems to be a lot of online support, so I can teach myself how to use it.
  • No local copy of the project, but you can export your data whenever it’s needed.

I think that a PhD project is a good place to start trialling it, as I don’t need to convince a group of co-workers to give it a shot. There’s a 30-day free trial available, and I’ll see how I go from there. If it works well, I’ll look into using it for collaborative projects later on. I’ll keep you posted.

Have you tried it out? Any experiences to report, or things I should look out for?

  1. August 17, 2011 at 8:57 pm

    I am about to start data-collection in my #PhD and very keen on using an online tool (different workplaces etc.) I would really appreciate an update on your experiences when you have had a good rummage. I will play about with it as well (when I have some time this weekend) and post about it when I have come to some sort of judgement. The thing that worries me is data-security, not that I doubt the built-in security, but I do fear the ethical committee…

    Kind regards, Tim (slightlyskewiff.blogspot.com)

    • August 19, 2011 at 11:59 am

      Hi Tim.

      No worries – I’ll most likely be writing about it as I go πŸ™‚ I’m interested in hearing about how it works for your project, too.

      It will be a couple of weeks before I can start using it properly, as I’ll need to go through Ethics first – but Jason’s comment below should help with that.

  2. August 19, 2011 at 10:26 am

    Hi Ben, thanks for the breif writeup. We hope to see your feedback as you get more into it. Regarding the security and IRB comments, please check out http://www.dedoose.com/Public/Terms.aspx#SECURITY, we have a very detailed and extensive security policy and built Dedoose from the ground up with this in mind. We have managed to pass some of the most difficult audits from certain organization that not even our competitors have been able to pass. We have worked VERY hard with many IRB’s, ethics committees, and even governmental organizations to ensure your data is far safer with us than it would EVER be on your personal computer.

    Another point is we are pay-as-you-go, in that we only charge for months you actually use Dedoose. We really hope you give Dedoose a shot, and feel free to contact us to see for yourself how fanatical our support is!
    Cheers!
    ~ JT

    • August 19, 2011 at 12:02 pm

      Hi Jason. Thanks for the comment! I’m very keen to start using it, so hopefully our Ethics board will be convinced to let me give it a shot. I don’t think there should be any problems, but it will delay things by a couple of weeks while I jump through the requisite number of hoops to convince them that I’m not blindly firing data out into the ether.

      • August 19, 2011 at 12:06 pm

        Sounds good, keep in mind our staff is extremely familiar and experienced in working through these challenged. If you need any assistance just shoot an email to support@dedoose.com, and we will happily help!

  3. Danielle Gaynor
    August 31, 2011 at 12:47 am

    I’m completely new to this whole process, but need something for a mini qualitative project. So thanks, Ben, and all for your comments and suggestions.

    Just downloaded TAMS Analyser. Will get back with a review when the project is done.

    Again, thanks.

  4. Angela M.
    September 1, 2011 at 3:55 am

    I’m to the data analysis part of my dissertation and I’ve spent hours online looking for easy to use, functional and yet not exorbitantly expensive qualitative data analysis programs that will work with my Macs. I stumbled across your posting and immediately gave it a try. So far, in about 20 minutes, I’ve managed to code about four pages of a transcript. I think this will be a great help to my dissertation and, more importantly, my sanity!

    Thanks so much for sharing and good luck with your writing!

    Sincerely,
    Angela

    • September 1, 2011 at 1:09 pm

      Hi Angela. That’s great to hear! It’s always nice to know that other people are finding these blog articles useful.

  5. megan
    September 8, 2011 at 12:39 pm

    Thanks for the links for alternatives for NVivo I must look in to them further
    cheers
    megan

    • September 9, 2011 at 3:37 am

      Megan, just fyi we have importers available for NVivo, Atlas.Ti, MaxQDA, and survey data. For assistance in getting your data in from other products, please don’t hesitate to give us a call or email and we will be happy to assist!

  6. Ann
    October 5, 2011 at 11:29 am

    Thanks Ben, for all your efforts on behalf of Mac using researchers (esp. research students). Here at UTS we have the same NVivo dominance, with most additional demand being for SPSS…(eek!!). I will pass on the info about Dedoose and see if another brave soul will try it out. Ann

  7. Jag Dhaliwal
    October 30, 2011 at 8:47 pm

    Thanks Ben – this issue – of finding the ‘right’ qual analysis software for my mac – has been my headache for the last few months. Trying to run Nvivo via parallels is painfully slow and the other mac options – TAMS/hyper research are a bit boring in terms of interface.
    The combination of dedoose/zotero looks god and I’m giving it a shot.
    Thanks again for sharing your experiences – really helpful
    Jag (UK/Aus)

  8. November 9, 2011 at 12:39 pm

    Thanks Ben, I really appreciate your notes. I’m going to investigate TAMS and Dedoose for my small piece of research and I’ll let you know how I get on. Helena (NZ)

  9. Etel
    November 9, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    THanks a ton!! This has been of tremendous help as I embark on dissertation work!

    Etel (USA)

  10. El
    November 30, 2011 at 9:52 pm

    Hi Ben, how did you get on with dedoose? I have just given NVivo the boot as it lags so much with Parallels as to be almost useless. I found your blog while looking for alternatives. I was going to give HyperResearch a go but dedoose appears (from a cursory examination) to be more intuitive and I like that it’s cloud based. Would love to know your thoughts now, some months after your initial post?

    • December 1, 2011 at 4:03 pm

      Hi El.

      I still haven’t done a lot with my data – I went overseas after writing this post, and have spent most of the time since I got back adding to the pile of interviews instead.

      My wife has been using Dedoose a lot during the past month for her own research, though. She spent a couple of days getting up to speed (no prior experience with any qualitative analysis software), and then moved straight into some fairly complex analysis. She has been finding things very intuitive so far, and I’m hoping to pick up some tips from her once she finishes her thesis draft – currently two weeks away and counting…

      So far I’ve only used it for some fairly basic thematic coding, which has been very straightforward. Once the year’s publishing deadlines pass (so I can get back to the PhD) I will be experimenting with the more advanced tools to really dig into the ways the research themes are connected to each other.

      Have you spent much time working with NVivo? I’ve used it for work, and still find the interface frustrating at times. I’ve only used it on the uni PC, as the Parallels issues seem to be pretty common… it’s been such a nice change having access to my coding on the Mac.

      • El
        December 2, 2011 at 8:11 pm

        Hi Ben,
        Thanks for your reply. I did an NVivo course, spent loads of money on Parallels and Windows and extra ram and I still found NVivo laggy to the point of being useless. I’m sure it’s fine on a pc but for me it was horrible, partly because I’ve never used a pc and NVIvo uses pc operations that I find really obtuse. As my research explores discussion on a web forum, I used the blogs metadata to code the posts in my pilot. This proved to be quite effective but I need something to work with interview transcripts and a larger forum that basically works like the tagging and categories that you use with blogs. I’ll give dedoose a go and see how that works out. It’s certainly affordable enough to have a play with.

        • December 3, 2011 at 5:33 am

          El, know that we have a great NVivo project converter online, though you need to contact support@dedoose.com for us to process the conversion. All conversions are free, and currently we support any spreadsheet with qual & qant data, NVivo, MaxQDA, and Atlas.Ti and are happy to produce more as demand dictates.
          ~ JT

          • El
            December 3, 2011 at 7:27 am

            Thanks Jason,
            I don’t think I even need to convert the pilot as I ended up using the tags on wordpress to code the blog directly. It’s my interviews that I need something for. Tell me, how is dedoose different from HyperResearch? Or can you point me in the direction of faqs or something that deals with this?

        • November 22, 2012 at 9:49 am

          El
          I realise this is a year after your post above and you may have moved on, but I could really do with some input regarding working with social media sources for data. I have facebook pages and twitter feeds to follow that are updated multiple times daily. I really need a (Mac friendly) tool that can be used to code data from these sorts of sources. Do you have any suggestions given your work with blogs?

  11. December 3, 2011 at 7:58 am

    Hi El, We know the group from HyperResearch and they are nice people, so I don’t want to say anything mean, but our web app is very different from their software. Currently they have much better video and transcription tools, as our video platform hasn’t launched yet (will be rather soon). The best way to understand Dedoose is to watch the videos- http://www.dedoose.com/, click the play button in the top left, and that will popup the video browser that will allow you to see all the others. As a web app, we are collaborative by default, multiple users can log in to the same project from wherever, security settings can control per user access. Dedoose has a very unique user interface and design methodology. The other players in this field have been around for some time, and generally I personally have been trained in a older era of software development. Our team came from the web development spectrum where user workflow, and user-experience are valued far more than anything else, as these are brands trying to leave an impression. With that background, Dedoose was designed first and foremost to be intuitive, approachable, and ideally, usable with zero training. On top of this, our founders has been conducting research through UCLA for a long time and had many frustrations with most of the other software out there. Dedoose was built to address these needs, solve these problems, introduce a new cloud based collaborative way to conduct qualitative and mixed methods research, and provide a slew of interactive data-visualizations for tearing through your data. It was designed for our research teams first and foremost, and they continue to provide enormous feedback to keep improving it. The final problem we wanted to address was cost. Dedoose costs about 10 a month for every month you actually use it. For more information check out our site.
    ~ JT

    • El
      December 3, 2011 at 8:00 am

      Awesome! Thanks JT. I have looked at your site but that answers some of the questions I had.

  12. February 4, 2012 at 4:44 am

    Okay, you’ve convinced me. Started my Dedoose trial two minutes ago. For the first time I feel that a qualitative research software product may be something OTHER than an enormous pain in the butt. I’m actually hopeful. Thank you!

  13. February 4, 2012 at 5:04 am

    Hi Everyone, just wanted to give you all an update on Dedoose. As of Feburary 1st 2012, Dedoose now supports video as a excerptable media resource along with text documents. We will be adding transcripts, auto transcribe features, and audio as a resource very shortly as well. As always if there is anything you would like to see in particular please email support@dedoose.com, find us on facebook, or visit our forums. One of the tremendous advantages we have of being a web app is we can make changes and have them published live within a few days. Cheers!
    ~ JT

    • June 1, 2012 at 12:07 am

      “We will be adding transcripts, auto transcribe features, and audio as a resource very shortly as well. ” Curious, have these features been added?

  14. El
    February 4, 2012 at 8:58 am

    Hi Everyone,

    For those people worried about taking the plunge, I have been coding interviews in Dedoose for a couple of weeks now. It works very like NVivo so the course I did hasn’t been wasted also it looks soooo much better. It always really bugged me that you couldn’t see where you had coded without stripes on in NVivo but in Dedoose your excerpts are highlighted automatically. I watched the videos and downloaded the manual but I haven’t needed it because the videos are really clear and easy to follow. I found setting up descriptor fields to be initially confusing and I would have liked to have option lists be able to select more that one option. I’m sure I’m not the only person that has potentially quant data (in my case teacher backgrounds) where they might want an options list but need to be able to select two options (for example this teacher teaches violin AND cello). Apart from that, Dedoose is seriously good. I can’t wait to show my supervisor. New convert over here! πŸ™‚

    Thanks for providing the initial impetus Ben πŸ™‚

  15. February 4, 2012 at 9:06 am

    Thank you El for your kind words. We do have plans for an incredible descriptor overhaul as that is definitely the most confusing part of Dedoose. It takes a bit to make the connection between the spreadsheet quant data and our descriptor system. However, you are absolutely right regarding the multiple selections per field. We will be working on that, BUT there is a way around that. Simply add a true/false field for them. So a separate true false field for violin and one for chello in your example. It’s not nearly as elegant as we would like but it does work for right now. Once transcripts, audio, and image as resource are online (hopefully all this quarter) we will be going back to make massive improvements to the descriptor system and a killer new auto import wizard.
    ~ JT

  16. El
    February 4, 2012 at 9:13 am

    Hey thanks Jason!!
    I’ll do that πŸ™‚
    Cheers,
    El

  17. Preeti
    February 18, 2012 at 11:48 am

    Thanks, for this post. I have been very frustrated the last couple of days trying to figure out what to do. Please do share if you have any more suggestions or feedback on Deedose. Will be trying it tonight.

  18. BSP
    March 26, 2012 at 12:39 pm

    Hi every one
    Im interested to know the security level of Dedoose. Im not sure the ethics comt trip will be an easy one at my uni

    • March 26, 2012 at 1:02 pm

      Jason’s first comment here (reply #3) has a link that should be able to satisfy any security concerns that the ethics committee might have – it’s a pretty common issue for any work conducted through a university, and they seem to have put some time into documenting all their security measures.

  19. March 26, 2012 at 3:25 pm

    I had no problem with ethics on this. So long as you outline the security measures in the application, it poses no problem.

  20. April 27, 2012 at 4:45 am

    Whoever you are, dear blog owner, may a thousand gods of every religion ever created sing your praises in an afterlife if such a place exists.

    I refused to double-boot my macbook after a bad experience on an earlier mac but NVIVO is the only tool anyone at my university seems to know about. It came down to me seriously considering buying a second, cheap PC; coding over 2,000 printed e-docs by hand; or, giving up. Your post saved me a lot of time and money. I’m now registering for dedoose. It looks like it has just enough functionality to do what I need for my diss and I can purchase it and food this month. From the student perspective that’s a win-win.

    • May 2, 2012 at 1:35 pm

      No worries! I also considered finding a cheap PC for a while… doing everything on one computer (without dual-booting) is much easier. Good luck with your dissertation πŸ™‚

  21. JTtheGeek
    May 3, 2012 at 3:52 am

    BTW – we recently released a desktop app to connect to Dedoose. http://www.dedoose.com/Forum/?g=posts&t=203

  22. Claire
    May 10, 2012 at 6:20 pm

    Our Uni supports NVivo and I went on a two day course last summer so I thought I should try to use it. Being a dedicated Mac user I too had pondered buying a ‘cheap’ PC but for the right amount of memory etc needed for NVivo it would not be so cheap unless refurbished. Our IT support installed a Windows platform on my Macbook. I spent over two hours yesterday intalling NVivo and it still does not work, and is soo slow (not to mention rising stress levels over the whole process). So I am happily going to abandon it before I waste more time and try Dedoose. Thanks for the really helpful posts glad I found this site.

  23. mha
    May 17, 2012 at 2:30 am

    I used Dedoose for my dissertation study and it worked wonderfully. Unlike a user above, I did need to use the handbook for figuring things out, but it was direct and clear. Once I was frustrated trying to figure something out and a colleague, who’d used Dedoose before with success, recommended I email the Dedoose designers for help. I got a reply within a few hours and it answered my question perfectly. I highly recommend Dedoose (especially if you are a Mac user that wants to avoid buying a PC to use with NVivo)!

  24. Judith
    May 21, 2012 at 11:43 pm

    I am searching for a qualitative software analysis for mac. I have found the following problems with dedoose. If you have documents named things like 09mex34 the program will not sort them correctly when you sort the titles. To me that matters, because the document names imply chronological order.
    The program freezes a lot (I have a brand new mac)
    You can only upload max 20 documents at a time. That means for me 500 upload sessions for 10000 documents. Yikes.
    You can’t search through all documents for a particular word. In other words: no auto coding to help you presort documents for review. When i asked about this function I was told that the creators of the program think there are epistemological issues with auto coding.I think the researchers, not the software designers should decide that.

    The good thing is that support is really quick to respond and they did help me sort out upload problems, but the program itself just seems to leave some things missing.

    I would love to know if anyone else has come across qualitative analysis programs that work for mac.
    Thanks.

    • Robin Bishop
      October 14, 2013 at 2:53 pm

      Judith,
      I am perplexed; those who need to upload 10,000 docs and then word search all of those docs with one stroke of a key or even 50, will not be found in this forum. Nor would it be wise for a lone individual to be jumping into such a research analysis after data collection without having first finding the tech or manpower answer you seek.

      As for me I am an observer and have no axe to grind.

  25. May 31, 2012 at 12:02 am

    I have been debating which programme to purchase for the past year, and was just in the process of buying maxqda and dusting off my old Sony, as I am now a mac user. But dedoose sounds like it could be a great option, my main concern is cashflow, if one month you don’t have that 10 on the card, what happens to your data, is it all in the cloud. And when you are finished using dedoose can you take all your materials down on to your hard-drive and store them there.

  26. Tami
    July 15, 2012 at 6:57 am

    I am a PhD student working on a qualitative dissertation study. I will be conducting interviews soon and need some advice on the best/most efficient tool for recording the interview, typing up the interviews, and coding the interviews. I have friend that have used voice recorders, transcribe their typing themselves, then used Atlas Ti to do the coding. I have iPhone, iPad, and Macbook to use and it seems I should have a few more tools at my disposal already. I have the Dragon dictation app on my iPhone and and IPad. I just read the posts and comments about Dedoose and that sounds very useful. I would love advice before embarking on all of this. Thanks so much.

    • July 19, 2012 at 8:54 am

      Hi Tami.

      Have a look at TagPad (iPhone/iPad) for recording interviews – you can add questions or topic areas and use the app as an interview schedule or prompt, and record the audio for each section of the interview as a separate file. It sends all the recordings to a DropBox account, so you can easily go through them later.

      Alternatively, I can recommend the Livescribe smartpens – I used one to record all of my interviews. They record audio alongside the written notes, so you can quickly jump to the relevant part of a recording by tapping the pen next to what you were writing at the time: I write down keywords during the interview, and use them to navigate through the recordings.

    • July 19, 2012 at 11:25 pm

      I’ll be using a video camcorder and my Galaxy Tab to record via Evernote as a backup. And I’ll be using Dedoose to code data.

  27. Jes
    July 25, 2012 at 5:12 am

    “Whoever you are, dear blog owner, may a thousand gods of every religion ever created sing your praises in an afterlife if such a place exists.”

    tressiemc22 :

    Couldn’t agree more. This has been such a help.

    Since the people here are so knowledgeable and friendly, I thought I’d ask. I am conducting interviews OL. I am letting participants choose chat or vid-cam. The chat history needs to be exportable. The vid-cam session needs to be audio-recorded. I have found good options for recording Skype calls (www.ecamm.com/callrecorder/ and http://www.imcapture.com/), but the only text export options I’ve found are really clunky.

    Does anyone know a good chat platform where I could export the text? Bonus for being user friendly for my participants. Double bonus if I can use the same program for both recordable vid-cam interviews and chat.

    Thanks!

    • July 25, 2012 at 11:03 am

      Thanks! I really should write in here more often… it’s been months since my last blog post, and lots has been going on.

      Have you looked at http://www.kudoschatsearch.com/ ? I haven’t used it, but it has a good feature list – it integrates with Skype, and lets you search and back up conversations. There’s a free version, and a paid ($5/month) version can export search results.

      • Jes
        August 7, 2012 at 2:49 am

        Thanks for the suggestion. I had looked at Kudos Chat Search. It is not user-friendly. I still can’t even get my Skype account to link with the software, despite multiple contacts with their help service. I think I may end up going with IMO. It allows my participants to use a variety of different networks, which may be more convenient for them. It allows me to back-up conversations and then export and delete them on demand. I haven’t used it yet. But I’ve gotten in there and poked around and it seems straightforward.

  28. Amy Damon
    August 16, 2012 at 6:52 am

    Thank you, thank you, thank you. I am beginning the data coding process for my PsyD (doctorate in Psychology) and am 8 months into ownership of my first Mac. I was TERRIFIED when I read everything I would have to do to run NVivo. I am so very grateful that I won’t have to code by hand or run the parallels on my wonderful MacBook Air.

  29. Jo
    August 20, 2012 at 8:27 am

    Ben, Your blog is by far the best thing I have found on this topic. I have taken the plunge and started investing some time getting to know Dedoose on my Mac…. Anxiety around managing my huge amount of data has plummeted. Will keep you posted on how it goes. Better start the process of looking at the questions there might be around ethics? How did you go with RMIT ethics? I’m in Melbourne as well but not at RMIT.

  30. monica
    August 23, 2012 at 1:37 am

    wow I really needed this information and glad to find people having the same problem that I am having. I too am going to try Dedoose, because I don’ want to add Microsoft to my computer. Troubles and nothing but troubles, this has taken a lot of stress off me. Thanks for the information guys and girls.

  31. Lisa Harris
    October 6, 2012 at 8:50 am

    It is a funny world Ben. Your post have been extremely helpful in sorting out this question for me. And then I see you mention RMIT. I am an academic at RMIT, using a MAC already puts us outside in Swanson street, wanting to actually find a Nvivo like tool for the MAC has put me in some back ally around Franklin I suspect! I’ll check out Hyper research as the nature of my work would not make it appropriate for the data to be stored off site. Good luck with your PhD and feel free to keep in contact if I can be of any assistance (I already owe you a number of hours!)

    • October 25, 2012 at 9:46 am

      Hi Lisa! Pretty close, actually… I’ve been based in the Emily Mac building (B13) – there’s a small group of qualitative research people in the Graduate School of Business & Law. It’s been a strange fit for a group of sociologists… the rest of the school has a heavy focus on statistical analysis.

  32. October 9, 2012 at 10:10 am

    Ben – I’m just beginning this journey and as a Mac user you’ve given me access to a few tools here that will be useful. Tagpad looks interesting, and I’m going to included dedoose to my proposal. I’m already rocking Sente for reference database management and am looking forward to approaching this without having a to dual-boot (did this once and hated it). Thanks!

  33. Laryssa
    October 11, 2012 at 9:40 pm

    I have a dumb-ish question because I am just starting to look into software, but haven’t been able to find the answer to this yet…

    I’ve been collecting “stuff” all throughout my PhD research, and said “stuff” includes HD video. When uploading these materials to Dedoose (or other programs, it’s just that Dedoose is looking like the most viable option at the moment), does one have to actually upload the files themselves to the internet? This might prevent my using a web-based software, as I’ve got video files over 1 GB. Of course I could convert them to something smaller/more manageable, but the fewer steps, the better…

    My university has an institutional licence for NVIVO, so it’d be free to use; but I’m not liking the idea of using Boot Camp; and I wonder if all the “stuff” I’ve already got saved in a Mac environment would somehow have to be migrated onto the Windows side, or if I could be running NVIVO and dragging stuff from the Mac side. (I only switched to Mac a year ago and have no experience with Boot Camp.)

    SO glad I found this page, by the way, THANK YOU.

    • October 25, 2012 at 9:42 am

      Hi Laryssa.

      No such thing as a dumb question! If you’re using lots of HD video, then a web-based tool probably isn’t going to be your best option. Using the files at full resolution wouldn’t work (I hate to think how long it would take to upload multiple 1GB videos) until we have gigabit-speed internet connections – it’s probably an option for the next generation of research students. You can probably track down software that can convert the whole batch of videos into a more manageable format at once, but that’s even more time spent setting up, instead of analysing your data.

      I haven’t tried Boot Camp yet, but I don’t think you’ll be able to drag and drop files between operating systems – you boot the computer into one OS. A virtual PC option (Parallels, Fusion VMware, etc) would be a better option there: that lets you run a Windows operating system as though it’s a program within your native operating system.

      Depending on when you need to do your analysis, Kate’s post (below) mentions that QSR are finally bringing out a Mac version of NVivo. It’s due out late next year, with a beta testing program opening mid-year. If that’s not too late for you, it could be ideal.

  34. October 16, 2012 at 2:40 pm

    Hi Ben,
    You might be interested in this – http://www.nvivoformac.com/
    πŸ™‚

    • October 25, 2012 at 9:19 am

      I’ll certainly be having a closer look at it! It’s about four years too late for my PhD, but it will be good to finally have access without needing to run a second operating system πŸ™‚

      I assumed I had a bit of an unusual set of requirements when first writing these posts, but it looks like there are a lot of researchers needing qualitative data analysis software on a Mac. I’m still surprised at just how many comments the QDA posts have received.

  35. Kate
    October 25, 2012 at 7:20 am

    Thanks for a very useful discussion. On Dedoose and paying per month, can you only access you data if you’re paying? I’m thinking about what happens after the PhD – I’d like to have the record of how I’ve coded things. Is there any way to download the work so you can access it at any time off line? If you take a break from paying, is all the work lost? I’ve been talking to PhD friends who are using Nvivo and who are now worrying that they won’t be able to access their coding after finishing (and so moving away from the university). Does Dedoose get round this? Sorry, probably really stupid questions but I’m new to all this, grateful for some clarification.

    • October 25, 2012 at 9:59 am

      Hi Kate. No such thing as a stupid question πŸ™‚

      According to the Dedoose website, your data remains available for two years after your subscription ends. During that time, you can resume a subscription at any point: reactivating the account and having full access to it again. You also only pay for the months that you use the software – with a 12-month subscription you can log in for a month or two each year and keep access for a long time.

      You can also export all your data in various different formats. There’s a post on their forums (here – from last week) mentioning that they are working on an option that will allow you to export entire projects. That would let you back them up, and re-import them into Dedoose years later if you needed to go over the data again.

      • Kate
        October 25, 2012 at 11:07 pm

        Thanks Ben, it sounds worth a try!

  36. Kate
    October 26, 2012 at 4:06 am

    One more question for those with Dedoose experience – I found a good review of it at http://www.surrey.ac.uk/sociology/research/researchcentres/caqdas/files/DEDOOSE%20-%20distinguishing%20features%20FINAL.pdf – which is generally positive but mentions that “some of the ways in which the application of codes to data excerpts can be interrogated are more quantitatively oriented that most alternatives”. My work is very qualitative – open questions, unstructured interviews. How are people finding it for this type of research? Thanks again!

    • October 26, 2012 at 7:00 am

      Hi Kate, I’ve coded my entire PhD data in Dedoose and it works pretty much like NVivo. The Quant bit is the descriptor data and I did set this up so that I could generate participant profile charts but I never ended up using this feature. Your project sounds like mine and I thought Dedoose was excellent.
      Cheers,
      Eleanor

      • Kate
        October 27, 2012 at 12:30 am

        Thanks Eleanor.

        I’ve been trying out Dedoose this morning and it seemed fairly straightforward – but then froze completely when I tried to upload an HTML file. I shut it down and tried again but got the same problem. It says you can import html on the import media bit, but I couldn’t see anything about that in the user guide or wiki (may have missed it – it’s been a long week…). Anyone know if it’s possible and what you have to do? Converting to word isn’t a great option as you lose a lot of the webpage structure.

        Another niggle – someone mentioned earlier that you can’t search through all your imported media for a particular word. I also find this a little irritating e.g. when I can remember that someone used a great phrase but I can’t remember who – it would be nice to be able to search through all the transcripts. Or maybe this is possible and I just haven’t worked it out yet?

        On the plus side, I do like being able to export extracts under a particular code into a word doc.

        Sorry Ben – will now stop abusing your blog as a Dedoose help site and start using the Dedoose forum πŸ™‚

      • July 23, 2013 at 6:21 pm

        Hi Eleanor
        It sounds like you have experience of Dedoose. I’m looking to hire somone to run a project for me using this and wondered if you knew anyone or if you might be interested yourself?
        If so, pls. email me at info@customerfaithful.com

  37. November 20, 2012 at 12:59 pm

    Hi!
    Will dedoose support .pdf files, audio and video?
    any news about this?
    Without being able to import .pdf I find this software useless.
    Thanks

    • November 20, 2012 at 1:01 pm

      Hi Silva, Dedoose absolutely supports audio and video with our without transcription, and includes a transcription editor. Dedoose can import most PDF’s, but Nuance’s PDF converter seems to do a better job. We are happy to convert all your PDF’s for you if you encounter any issues. ~ JT

  38. Tami
    November 21, 2012 at 7:02 am

    I am about to begin data collection in the form of interviews for qualitative research (my dissertation project). The plan was to use voice recorder and hand transcribe using my Macbook then follow with Atlas-TI for analysis of the qualitative data and coding. I am reading these posts and it sounds like there are other things that could shorten this task. I would appreciate any suggestions. Thank you. (I am a Mac user if that helps or hurts!)

  39. November 22, 2012 at 9:52 am

    This blog is really excellent. I am ditching NVivo for my Mac after reading all this feedback but was initially impressed by their new functionality that allows pulling data from facebook and twitter pages. I could really do with some input regarding working with social media sources for data. Can anybody suggest a (Mac friendly) tool that can be used to code data from these sorts of sources.

  40. December 15, 2012 at 9:59 pm

    Thanks for the marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you could be a great author.
    I will remember to bookmark your blog and definitely
    will come back in the future. I want to encourage you to definitely
    continue your great work, have a nice holiday weekend!

  41. Mark
    January 6, 2013 at 2:17 pm

    I’m so glad to have found your posting. I’m working on my proposal now, and I needed something to include in my data analysis section. I’m glad to learn about a number of tools that can help with data analysis (and writing).

    Also, do any of the services you mentioned allow transcription of audio interviews? If not, may I ask for some options of which you have used? Please feel free to email me at princewonder1975 at gmail. Thanks!!

  42. January 12, 2013 at 2:51 pm

    you are life saver Ben πŸ™‚
    finding people went through your suffering and survived it is really encouraging.

  43. January 27, 2013 at 11:41 pm

    hello!,I really like your writing very a lot! share we communicate more about your
    article on AOL? I need a specialist on this house to resolve my problem.
    Maybe that’s you! Taking a look ahead to look you.

  44. Harry
    March 7, 2013 at 8:52 am

    QDA Miner Lite is a free and easy-to-use version of the popular computer assisted qualitative analysis software QDA Miner (http://provalisresearch.com/products/qualitative-data-analysis-software/). It can be used for the analysis of textual data such as interview and news transcripts, open-ended. To download this free qualitative software, go to this webpage: http://provalisresearch.com/products/qualitative-data-analysis-software/freeware/?goback=%2Egde_4697458_member_207898005

  45. November 9, 2013 at 8:56 pm

    A good article. I thought I had better mention RQDA which is free software. This is a library for the R statistics software designed for plain text QDA. I used this for free text survey data. I have also developed a python version, PyQDA, which uses the RQDA format – although it is early days for this software. Both should run on Macs providing at least python and pyqt are installed.

  46. Deepa
    May 11, 2014 at 8:33 am

    What a great forum . I need to anasyse 200 interviews each 10 pages long, can dedoose handle this? My computer skills are basic! Thanks Dee

  47. October 22, 2014 at 4:49 am

    I am using hyper research and enjoying it fine. It’s not super intuitive but the tutorials that come with it are fairly quick and super straightforward. email me for any questions with it. emmicb@gmail.com

  48. October 22, 2014 at 4:50 am

    also hyper research does allow audio and pictures etc.

  49. Isabel
    January 29, 2015 at 2:09 pm

    Hello! I’m late to this discussion but can anyone point me to how to best (or even simply) analyze coded data in Dedoose. At the moment, I’m interested in thematic analysis. I’m finding it quite confusing. Very much appreciated.

  1. August 17, 2011 at 3:59 pm
  2. February 8, 2012 at 12:35 pm
  3. January 16, 2013 at 1:10 pm
  4. January 22, 2013 at 7:45 am
  5. February 20, 2013 at 5:08 pm

Leave a Reply

